adventures in adventures. 

Life keeps getting crazier. Before the school year started, I told myself this year would be my #yearwithoutfear in my career. It’s been our class motto and I feel like I’ve really stuck to the goal of not being afraid so far. I’ve tried new things, spoken up, put myself out of my comfort zone, made new friends..the list could go on. The biggest part I think is that I haven’t been as fearful of what others think of me. I had a bad habit of that in the past and it really affected my happiness at work (and my attitude was probably affecting others happiness as well). This year I’m genuinely happy to be there most days because I’m excited about the new things I’m trying and learning. It’s been a really great year so far, even though it’s only been about six weeks. 

After a great start to the year, I wondered why I was letting my #yearwithoutfear only be a career thing. Why couldn’t it be in every aspect of my life? So about a month ago, I started seeing a personal trainer. I could go into deep backstory of body issues and struggles and the reason why this needed to happen – but I’ll spare you. My point is, I did something that I had been afraid of. I’m working hard and I’m not letting my fears stop me. I’ve been pretty successful with it so far and it’s just another step in the right direction for me. (Edit: I kept wondering if I would include this in my post – I realized I didn’t want to because I was afraid I would be judged. You know what that is? Fear. And it’s dumb. So I’m being transparent in the hope that I make my point and also have some accountability to continue being successful!)

All of this excitement, joy at work & home, and strength I’ve found to push myself has really made me dream again. And I’m talking the big dreams: buying a bigger house so that we can take in more foster children, starting a program like a “closet” for foster parents in the area that need supplies when they get a new placement, and the biggest dream of partnering with churches to provide resources and programs for teens in foster care. I’ve always been a dreamer – but with these dreams, at this time, something feels different. I want to make them happen.

With all that being said… these dreams clearly cost time, energy, and money. I feel passionately about foster care and our call to this ministry. I’ve decided to begin  selling Stella and Dot part time in order to make some extra money and try to make some of these dreams become a reality. Realistically, I’ll most likely be starting with the idea of a foster care closet. I want to build up enough of a closet that we would be able to provide clothes and other necessities to foster parents in the area that receive new placements.

 There are lots of reasons that I chose Stella and Dot as my side job, but all of those details will be for another blog post. Did I ever think I would be taking on another job to chase dreams like this?Absolutely not! Will I fail at selling jewelry? Possibly. Right now, I’m taking everything one month at a time. If it works, great. If it doesn’t, oh well. At least I didn’t let fear stop me from trying. 

We’re in a good place where this is low pressure on me. Any money I make is extra, and can be put toward any one of our dreams. I don’t have any sort of stress over having to make a certain amount of money or work a certain amount of hours. It can be whatever I’m comfortable with. So with no pressure I’m fueled mostly by the excitement that I may be able to bring one of these dreams to life after this #yearwithoutfear ! 

Taking a break from placements has been good. Husband is still working hard (but finally slowing down), and I really do feel like I’ve had time to rest and be productive in other aspects of my life (i.e. Housework..). With that said, I’m thrilled to be watching my friends little buddy in a week or so, and eager to be back on the call list. 

For our next placement, we will only receive calls for children that are newborns through age 2. We were originally taking calls up to age 4. This is a temporary change, but one that we feel is best for our family right now. 

I think that’s all I have to update! As always, thanks for reading 🙂 oh and if any of you are interested in free jewelry by hosting a party.. feel free to reach out 😉 

Leave a Reply

