Isaiah 40:31

“..But those who trust in the LORD will find new strength. They will soar high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint.” Isaiah 40:31

This is the bible verse that my mind keeps going to. And it is ringing true in my life every. single. day. My faith has been what’s keeping me going these days – not just keeping me going, but allowing me to really love life. If I just list everything that’s happened, everything we’ve done or have to do, or how many times things have changed for us.. I think that I should be having some sort of break down. It’s just been a LOT. But because of how incredible the Lord is & the support of our friends & family.. we are still feeling good. Really good.

I think sweet pea will be staying with us for a while. We still don’t have a length of time or a date or anything like that, but it’s looking like the chances of her leaving us any day now are pretty slim. But you never know with foster care. We are excited to have her with us longer, but of course heart broken for her and her family. Saying she misses them is an understatement, it’s something we talk about and work through every day. However, she is adjusting. Finally finally finally. She is happier and seems to be enjoying our company 10x more than when she first came to our home. She has even warmed up to me! Most of the time anyway. There are still moments where we struggle and honestly I know it’s just because I’m filling in a role that she does not want to be filled right now. I can’t blame her for her reaction and feelings about it all. But most days are good now, and we have had some really great times as a new little family.

Something we decided is that sweet pea will be starting daycare! I am getting the paperwork and everything set up this week,so she will start the 26th. Husband has been working a lot of hours lately, and I think I said in my last post that even though it’s a lot it’s really good. However, finding childcare for many more hours than usual has started to get difficult. My sister has been such a blessing but is starting a new job so I have spent hours today trying to figure out this week – and I’m still working out a few parts of it! Anyway she will be in daycare three or four days a week, and I think it will be really good for her. She wants to be around children and we want her to be learning. She is definitely at an age that she would benefit from this – so I truly believe this is how it was supposed to happen. When we first decided to pursue foster care we weren’t sure that we would want to foster if we ever got to a place where we needed to put our children in daycare. I don’t know why we thought that. It seems ridiculous to me now. We can still make a difference in the lives of children even if they spend time outside of our home. It may even make more of a difference.

It’s crazy to think about how our lives will never be the same. And how much has changed in such a short amount of time. My 25th birthday is this week.. and I was thinking about how on my 24th birthday, foster care wasn’t even a thought in our minds. I mean, we had talked about fostering after we had biological children and they had grown up. But it wasn’t something we were ever considering seriously.. and in less than a year we’ve already gone through the entire process of getting licensed AND we’ve had two precious girls in our home. Crazy. I’m thankful for it and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: One of my favorite parts of this whole thing is seeing how many people have come together to help us love these kids. With prayer, clothing, encouragement, babysitting, play dates, the list goes on. All of it is making a difference -in sweet peas life, little loves life, in our lives, and I like to think in the lives of others around us. Community is seriously a special thing. God created us to do life together – and I don’t think I really appreciated what that looked like until we needed a community to lean on.

Thanks for reading!

 

 

Leave a Reply

