Training Day 2

Yesterday was our second day of training (our third and fourth sessions)! It was really fun and Mike and I are loving the extra time we get to spend together. The first session was called “Nuts and Bolts” and it was all about what we need to get ready for our home inspections. The second session was all about Family Team Decision Meetings – which is basically when a group a people get together to talk about options for the child they are concerned about. Here are the highlights:

  • We have a LOT to do at our house. There are so many rules and guidelines that we need to make sure we are following. I’m pretty sure our current to-do list includes: measuring our windows, buying radiator covers, smoke detectors, a fire extinguisher, lock boxes, and ways to baby proof our cabinets. Those are what I can remember off the top of my head, but there is a long list of little thing to do around the house too. It is feeling more and more like a blessing that certification will be around June. I’ve realized that the extra time is actually making it more fun and way less stressful.
  • We had to get CPR/First Aid certified. Apparently, you can do this online. It only took about thirty minutes to finish the whole process.
  • We got paperwork, paperwork, and more paperwork. I started mine when Mike was at work last night, and I felt like I was writing everything that’s ever happened to me. It asks all about your childhood, your marriage,  your parents, your siblings, etc. Part of me really enjoyed filling it out and being asked questions that made me reflect on where I came from and how things are going now. The other part of me was nervous filling it out because I could not for the life of me think about what answers they “want” to see. Obviously it’s not about that, and I answered as open and honestly as possible, but these fears were definitely in the back of my mind: “What if this is counted against me? What would be an ideal childhood? How do I say what I want in only a few sentences?!”
  • There is so much support for foster parents and foster children. We were given many lists of how the system helps you: with support groups, with finances, with mileage, with questions, etc. It is evident when we hear our trainers speak – they care for the kids they work for. They are truly inspiring and are clearly making a difference every day.
  • Next week the first session is about attachment and the second session is about loss. They told us to come prepared because they are both heavy topics and it is normal to get emotional. And lets be real, when am I not emotional?

Some other fun highlights from our lives:

  • We got living room furniture! After over three months of having an empty room, it’s exciting to finally be decorating and filling it up again. I know this is a lame highlight – but it’s how I spent a good part of my weekend. It’s almost finished so pictures will eventually come 🙂
  • Tomorrow I am meeting with a woman about a part-time tutoring job that would be such a blessing for us. Mike and I have both been trying to find ways to make more money and this came at the perfect time. It’ll make for a busy few months, but it’ll be the perfect part-time job to have over the summer when we first get licensed and it’ll be awesome to save up some extra money until then. Prayers for our meeting tomorrow are appreciated!
  • We are going on vacation! This has been in the works for a while now but just became official a few weeks ago. A group of our high school friends are getting together next month at a house we rented in Virginia. It’s been a really long time since we have all been together. This is coming during such a busy time in our lives and we couldn’t be any more excited about it. It’s going to be the perfect little getaway and such a great time to catch up and be intentional with people we love.
  • I was given the amazing opportunity to go to the Ron Clark Academy with coworkers in May. Without going into much detail: Ron Clark runs a school in Atlanta, Georgia and we have been adopting some of his ideas, strategies, and methods of teaching in our school the past few years. Some of my coworkers traveled there in October and said it was one of the best experiences they’ve had. I feel really lucky to be given the chance to go there and to learn and grow as an educator!

What I’ve been learning: In the midst of chaos and change, God is constant. There are SO many changes going on for us right now, and sometimes it feels like we have no control. In the past when I feel like I don’t have control, I spiral pretty quickly into a world of anxiety, worries, and fears. Thankfully, I have a God that is constant and a husband that reminds me of that daily.

Thanks again for being a part of our journey!

Leave a Reply

