Quote Challenge Day 1

Want to hear something exciting? Okay! Today I found out a few people I don’t know are actually reading this blog about my thoughts and my life. How cool is that?! Maybe I am a nerd, but I couldn’t be more excited about it.

Earlier this afternoon, a blogger I’ve been following tagged me in the Quote Challenge. The challenge is to post about a quote each day and then ask other bloggers to do the same. I’ve decided to accept this challenge for a few reasons. First of all, I love me a good quote. Being a book lover, the possibilities for this seem endless. Second of all, someone I don’t know personally challenged me, and I love that. Third of all, it’s an excuse to keep writing. I know I don’t need an excuse but confession: I’ve felt a little annoying posting again and again without much of a purpose (except that I love it), so I’m thrilled for an excuse. So here goes..

“It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.”
–Dumbledore, The Sorcerer’s Stone (written by J.K. Rowling)

I knew the moment I read the challenge that Harry Potter would be referenced. As my favorite book series.. I figured it was only fitting. It took me a while to think about what quote I wanted to use. There are so many to choose from,  but obviously I wanted it to have a personal meaning. In an effort to be as transparent as possible – I chose this quote because I struggle with it. I am a dreamer and I always have been. It’s one of those things that I truly believe is both a blessing and a curse.

A blessing: I have lots of goals and aspirations. I’ve always loved thinking about the future – and I never really feared it (and those of you that know me know that I fear a lot of things). To me, the future was (and is) full of endless possibilities and I could do whatever I wanted. Because of these dreams, I’ve done some pretty amazing things. My dream of going to Africa came true – twice. My dream of becoming a teacher and having my own classroom. My dream of getting married and owning a home with the man I love. My dream of taking on leadership roles in ministry. I could go on and on. The life I live today.. I’ve spent a lot of time dreaming of it.

A curse: Sometimes I don’t feel satisfied and I start wanting more. What’s next? I graduated college – I needed to get a job immediately. Got a job – but I still needed to get the classroom I always imagined. Got the classroom – and now I find myself wondering what’s next again. This goes for everything: Dated Mike, got married, got a dog, bought a house, got another dog, now what? I know these aren’t bad things.. and I know I’m living the life God planned for me. And I love it. But I also know that I’ve wasted a LOT of time dwelling on dreams and not living in the moment. I’ve planned many road trips and adventures that have not happened. I’ve talked about moving states and that has not happened. I’ve talked about joining things, starting things, etc. And I think (or maybe hope) this is normal, but I am really trying to become more aware of it. How much did I miss out on during my engagement because I was too busy dreaming about the wedding (and life after the wedding)? What am I missing out on now when I’m busy dreaming about the days we have children in our home (literally – it’s all mapped out in my head – 4 girls..)?

Don’t get me wrong, I will always be a dreamer. It’s something I actually like about myself. But I do want to find the balance of it all. There are so many good things ahead of me, but I need to take more time to be present. To be content in the moment. Because really, what’s happening now may never happen again. And it is good.

In Harry Potter, this quote is used in reference to the Mirror of Erised. This mirror shows the “deepest, most desperate desires of our hearts.” When Dumbledore finds out that Harry is visiting the mirror frequently, he had it moved and asked Harry not to look for it. Even though I know it’s good to have dreams, I don’t want to get stuck sitting in front of my Mirror of Erised.

“It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.”
–Dumbledore, The Sorcerer’s Stone (written by J.K. Rowling)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

